The music of Peter Maxwell Davies

Jones, Nicholas and McGregor, Richard ORCID logo ORCID: (2020) The music of Peter Maxwell Davies. Boydell & Brewer. Full text not available from this repository.

(Contact the author)
Official URL:


Peter Maxwell Davies (1934-2016) was one of the leading international composers of the post-war period as well as one of the most productive. This book provides a global view of his music, integrating a number of resonant themes in the composer's work while covering a representative cross-section of his vast output - his work list encompasses nearly 550 compositions in every established genre. Each chapter focuses on specific major works and offers general discussion of other selected works connected to the main themes. These themes include compositional technique and process; genre; form and architecture; tonality and texture; allusion, quotation and musical critique; and place and landscape. Throughout, the book contends that Davies's works are not created in a vacuum but are intimately connected to, and are a reflection of, 'the past'. This deep engagement occurs on a number of levels, fluctuating and interacting with the composer's own predominantly modernist idiom and evoking a chain of historical resonances. Making sustained reference to Davies's own words, articles and programme notes as well as privileged access to primary source material from his estate, the book illuminates the composer's practices and approaches while shaping a discourse around his music.

Item Type: Book
Publisher: Boydell & Brewer
ISBN: 9781783274833
Departments: Institute of Arts > Performing Arts
Additional Information: Richard McGregor is Emeritus Professor of Music at the University of Cumbria and part-time Lecturer at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland.
Depositing User: Anna Lupton
Date Deposited: 16 Oct 2019 15:15
Last Modified: 25 Apr 2024 14:53
Edit Item